Get Directions GET
Bulletin Board BULLETIN
Follow us on Twitter FOLLOW US
Follow us on Facebook FOLLOW US
July 26 - July 28, 2019
Walter E. Washington Convention Center
Washington DC, USA
Home  //  History  //  Awards: 2003
Awards: 2003

Music Videos | Costumes | Modeling

2003 AMV Contest

OTAKON would like to announce the winners of its 2003 Anime Music Video Contest. The winning entries were determined from ballots cast by the members of Otakon 2003. After viewing the screening of entries, members were asked to vote for their single most-favorite anime music video in
each of five categories: Romantic/Sentimental, Dramatic/Serious, Action, Upbeat/Rhythm, and Humorous/Satirical. 501 votes were cast.

This year's contest received entries from 185 unique individuals or groups, a new record for the convention. Entries were screened in a 120-minute contest, and as seven non-competing screening tapes (six general screening tapes and one late-night screening tape). The contest was shown twice at the convention: once Friday night in the 4,500-seat Main Events room (on three screens!) and once Saturday afternoon in the 2000-seat Video Room One. Attendance at both showings was approximately 90% of room capacity.

The general screening tapes were each shown two times during the convention -- on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday mornings in the 800-seat Video Room Four. The late-night screening tape was shown once on Saturday night. A tape of entries that scored highly in the evaluation process but that were not selected as contest finalists was also screened Saturday night in a consolation screening.

The winner in each category receives an Otakon Golden Hiroko-chan trophy, some anime and/or manga booty from the Otakon dealers room, and the warm, fuzzy feeling of a job well done.

Winning videos are described in the form of "Song" by Artist; Anime used; Producer/Director received ## of the votes cast. (Numbers may not add up to the total number of ballots cast because some members did not vote in all categories.)

Winner Glory of Love
Daniel Chang
Vision of Escaflowne
Peter Cetera "Glory of Love"
Runner Up Deceptive Passions
Meredith "Men" Cantoni
Fushigi Yuugi
Sugarcult "Pretty Girl (The Way)"
Honorable Mention Desperado
Alex Mirra
Love Hina
The Eagles "Desperado"
Winner Searching
Steven "Grover" Voccola
Five for Fighting "Superman"
Runners Up Mad World
Nightowl Pictures
FLCL (Furi Kuri)
Gary Jules "Mad World"
Urban Ragnarok Part 1
E.L.O. "Twilight"
Honorable Mention A Beautiful Failure of a Film
Louis Kratz
Shin Seiki Evangelion
Guster "Airport Song"
Winner The Need for Speed
Skyfire AMV
Macross: Do You Remember Love,
Macross VFX2,
Macross Plus

Keny Loggins "Danger Zone"
Runner Up Die Another Day
Madonna "Die Another Day"
Honorable Mention Hindi Sad Diamonds
Brad DeMoss
Ah! Megami Sama!
Moulin Rouge OST "Hindi Sad Diamonds"
Variations of D Minor
Vancore Studios
Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust
Rhapsody "The Dark Tower of the Abyss"
Winner It's Tricky to Make a Music Video
Lee Sheng
69 Various Anime
Run DMC "It's Tricky"
Runner Up Stop the Rock
Indifferent Productions
Apollo Four Fourty "Stop the Rock"
Honorable Mention Vanilla Vash
Senta Miller
Vanilla Ice "Ice Ice Baby"
Winner Lollipops, Sunshine, and rrrRRRrrr
Doki Doki Productions
Card Captor Sakura & Various
Iniquity "The Bullet's Breath"
Runner Up We Want YOU!
Vlad G. Pohnert
The Village People "In the Navy"
Honorable Mention Hard Knock Anime
Shin Seiki Evangelion OST "Kannon D-Dur"
Goldmember OST "Hard Knock Life"
Who Let the Fros Out?
Moko Moko Afro Ken & Various
The Bahamen "Who Let the Dogs Out?"
Mokushi Desu Ne, Boku Genki Desu Yo
Tom "The Fish" Guttadauro
REM "It's the End of the World As We Know It"

All entries not listed here received less than the mean level of votes per entry for that category.

OTAKON would like to thank everyone who participated in the 2003 Anime Music Video Contest. Congratulations to all who submitted entries!

* * *



Despite -- and in fact because of -- numerous requests, OTAKON cannot provide copies of the Anime Music Video Contest tape. While we appreciate the high level of interest this fan activity engenders, we are only human and could not even begin to satisfy the large number of requests for copies desired by general anime fandom. Thank you for your understanding of our position.

2003 Costume Contest

Results Unavailable

2003 Modeling Contest

Category Entry Title Modeler's Name
Best Scratch Built Mary Legr
Best Character (Figure) Kyle Hagan
Best Mecha Tim Harkins
Best Diorama Stan Torok
Best of Show Chris Baretta
Follow Me on Pinterest
Back Home  |  Get Directions  |  Top of Page
Otakorp, Inc. ©2016 Otakorp, Inc.
Privacy Policy